Resources for cycling to and on the Lawrence Campus

Bicycle Advisory Committee

The KU Bicycle Advisory Committee (KUBAC) is made up of students, staff, and faculty from the KU community who have a vested interest in improving bikeability and developing a bike culture on the KU Lawrence Campus. KUBAC was established in 2012 as a means of helping implement the bicycle related goals of the Sustainability Plan, and has since taken on the role of implementing components of the KU Bike Plan

The goals of KUBAC include:

  • Promote bicycling as a mode of transportation and a form of recreation and exercise.
  • Educate the campus community – including motorists, cyclists, and pedestrians – on bicycle safety and etiquette.
  • Advise Campus Operations on matters related to bicycle infrastructure in order to maintain and improve a physical environment that encourages biking and multi-modal transportation.

2018-2019 Membership

  • Josh Bolick - KU Libraries
  • Chris Depcik - Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Margretta de Vries - Administrative Associate, Parking & Transit
  • Mike Dickey - Assistant Director, Recreation Services
  • Linda Dixon - Assistant Director, Center for Civic & Social Responsibility
  • Lars Erickson - Student
  • Andrew Foster - Emergency Management Specialist, KU Public Safety
  • Marci Francisco - Retired Staff, Community Member
  • Hayley Goddard - Scholarship Hall Director, Student Housing
  • Lissa Hallberg - Analyst, Bureau of Child Research
  • Daniel Hernandez - Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics
  • Daniel Hughes - Student
  • Donna Hultine, Director, Parking & Transit
  • Ward Lyles - Assistant Professor, Urban Planning
  • Andrew Moore - Student Senate Representative
  • Jessica Mortinger - Senior Transportation Planner, Lawrence-Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • Ashley Myers - Transportation Planner, Lawrence-Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • Lesley Owens - Academic Advisor, Social Welfare
  • John Paden - Associate Scientist, Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets
  • Marion Paulette - Landscape Architect, Facilities Planning & Development
  • Ian Pepin - Student, KU Cycling Club
  • Sharad Richardet - Student Senate Representative
  • Jeff Severin - Director, Campus Planning & Sustainability (Chair)
  • Logan Stuart - Student
  • Carla Swoyer - Buyer, Procurement Services
  • Tom Waechter - Director, Capital Planning & Space Management
  • Dexter White - Student, Bike KU
  • Emily Witt - Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today